A la Lueur du Lampadaire !

D-RAT :

 

 

 

 http://24hourreadathon.com/ 

 

 http://www.facebook.com/readathon

 

 

It's Saturnay, April, 21th and D-Rat's going to start at noon

14:00 at Paris (in France) ! Ready for reading ?

 

I'll begin my reading by Irving Washington's short stories.

...

 

C'est samedi, le 21 du mois d'avril et le D-RAT démarre a midi

14:00 a Paris (en France) ! A vos starting blocks !!

 

Je commencerai avec les nouvelles d'Irving Washington.

...

 

 

  • My 1st hour and rest :

 

I notice that I have starting in advance on the timing... I can't count each time zone properly... So I won't add the first ten pages of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. 

 

And there's Lu from Regular Rumination who have writing an...

 

Introductory Questionnaire

 
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
I'm from a little town from Paris.
 
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
All of them are my choices so I know I will read all them... one day !
 
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I have some nem-like bread and cheese pastry for the night. Overwise, I do cook the dinner - it's my turn.
 
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I was a great reader of novels when I was in high school but now I can't read so fast, especially English language novels like The Lord of the Rings. I only read under a huge floor lamp what looks like a real street lamp.
 
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
Reading in English and a target of 500 pages at least.

 

 

  • 3. hour to 5. hour / 17:00 to 19:00 :

 

I begin Alice's Adventures in Wonderland that my sister adds in my pile of books ; it's an easy-to-read book, so I'm flying high... Meanwhile I have to do some stuff for my family, as cooking and shopping, I don't cheat - huh !- and keep an eye on the cooking and book both.

I think I won't be disturbed after 21:30, the 7. hour.

Read over 20 pages.

 

 

  • 6. hour to 8. hour / 20:00 to 22:00 :

 

I read on Alice : around 50 pages. The story is very soft and I appreciate all words.

I'm so slow, slow, slow... And the clock is so fast !

 

 

  • 9. hour to 10. hour / 23:00 to 24:00

 

I always have mangas to read online ; counting carefully, I finish the latest online releases of

 28 pages  17 pages

 

And now I attack The Patriotic Murders by Agatha Christie. 

It's a good choice in theses days of French presidential election...

 

And after that, The Lord of Rings by JRR Tolkien, the big deal ! 

 

 

  • 11. hour to 14. hour / 01:00 to 04:00 am

 

I have finished Christie's breathless detective story, 228 pages.

The story contains conversations that give a certain vivacity and catch the reader so tigh because he carries on the investigation with the main detective. So playful !

 

I have read around a quarter of The Lord of Rings, from page 28 to page 179, so 151 pages. My big deal is the most difficult due to its writting. I think that its syntax is very complex to understand at the first reading. As I know the story's plot, because of the French version or films, I can understand every scenes.

 

I go on Rip van Winkle and the final part of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. I add 28 pages for the late one and 19 pages for the latest one.

I studied these 2 stories at university at the 1st term, they were my very 1st literary works in which it didn't consist on reading only.

 

  • 15. hour to 18. hour / 05:00 to 08:00 am :

 

I have failed this round... I felt asleep with my copy of Alice's Adventures and the light turned on during 3 hours. So I only count a dozen pages of the book.

It's not my fault only. My sisters prepared me a so lovely-dovely place to read in rest that I completely fall into it... I think they're begged on it...

 
After breakfast, I re-start... and cheering some readathoners. It's night somewhere on Earth...

 

 

  • 19. hour to 20. hour / 09:00 to 10.00

 

I take the time to create a logo for this event after the one of the Dewey's RAT web site. It will never be too late...

 

 

  • 21. hour to 24. hour / 11:00 to 14:00 :

 

I don't know the way I count hours but now it doesn't matter...

  

How does the RAT turn out ? I can say for now :

    The Patriotic Murders : finished (228p)

    Irving Washington 2 short stories in 1 book : finished (47p)

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland :near to be finished (106p)

    The Lord of Rings : standby on going (171p)

    mangas Fairy Tale and Bleach : (45p)

  

    Total : 597p in the end !

 

...

 

The finish line ! Closer !

and its questions :

 

End of event meme

A Readathon tradition! In your final Readathon post, answer these questions and then link.

 

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?      That was the 3 last ones : I was on the edge to abandon...
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?   
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?  
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?   Yeah, I'm very proud of me because I have read complete books in no French. I don't give up like usual...
  5. How many books did you read?   3 books on 5.
  6. What were the names of the books you read?   The Patriotic Murders ; Irving Washington's 2 short stories in 1 book ; Alice's Adventures in Wonderland ; The Lord of Rings ; mangas Fairy Tale and Bleach.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?   The Patriotic Murders
  8. Which did you enjoy least?    None.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?    Reader ; or even Cheerleader only if I'll improve my English and have ideas for challenges.

 

 

Ah. It's finished now ! I enjoy this RAT more than expected ! I have completed both of my target : reading books in English without stopping in the middle of them AND reading at least 500 pages what are 597 pages, nearly 600 ! For 20 hours of reading, 2 hours of sleeping and 2 hours for reading some readathonners' sites !

  

Where's the next one ?

 

And, of course, congrats for all readathonners and cheerleaders ! What will we do without you ?

 



21/04/2012
1 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Littérature & Poésie pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 23 autres membres